SDHNTR(home) 28-Jun-15
deerhaven 28-Jun-15
kota-man 28-Jun-15
SDHNTR(home) 28-Jun-15
Bou'bound 28-Jun-15
Russell 28-Jun-15
sticksender 28-Jun-15
20-Aug-14
Any suggestions on the type and brands to consider?

20-Aug-14
Right now I have been using under armor boots, light weight enough support for the scree, up hills and down hills. Four weekends of scouting and no complaints. Looks like Mendel boots would be a good choice, but I have no experience with them.

20-Aug-14
Lowas worked well for me. Mike

20-Aug-14
I don't like my Kenetrek Mountain Extremes, I have always had heel blister issues even long after break in.

I plan to buy Lowas at some point.

20-Aug-14
One companies Last may fit you better than another. Zappos can send you some Lowas,Lathrop some Hanwag,Cabela's some Miendl,Kennetrek the same and try to get the fit you like in a Euopean made boot.

Asolo.Zamberlan also fit a little differently.

20-Aug-14
Grant...I'm a Lowa guy for my mountain adventures. Most recently my Lowa Bighorns have been getting the most use. I've also used Lowa Sheephunters, Lowa Tibets, Lowa Cevedales and the new Lowa Hunter Extremes.

Hanwags have also served me well, but Lathrop doesn't really carry them any more. I have seen them at Scheels and Barney's though. Lathrop is big in to Lowa's now.

I'm NOT a Kenetrek fan as they are the ONLY boot that has ever given me blisters on the heel.

I've owned at least 20 pair of mountain boots the last 5 years and even had a review thread going on here for quite awhile. Seach "Boots 2 years worth" and it should come up. I'll try to find the link...

20-Aug-14
I must have the only foot on BS that Kennetreks' fit. I love mine. That said, you will want a mountain boot for goats and sheep. Lowa, Hanwag, etc. Find one that fits.

20-Aug-14