bow shot 02-Oct-14
bow shot 02-Oct-14
bow shot 04-Oct-14
bow shot 06-Oct-14
WapitiBob 06-Oct-14
bow shot 07-Oct-14
bow shot 14-Nov-14
30-Sep-14
Been using GoldTip XT Hunter arrows on and off over the years. Used XT Expeditions in the inky past too. I've also used just about everything else out there.

The question is this: Has anyone ever found a SPINE difference between the GodTip XT Hunters and the XT Expeditions? Obviously, I'm talking about arrows labeled as having the same spine (55/75 in this case).

I ask this because I just fletched up a batch of Expeditions, and they wag/corkscrew (with field points) something awful.

I am a very experienced arrow builder and bow tuner (35+ years), so briefly, no, NOTHING has changed other than the shafts. Same fletch/jig/points/wraps/rest/length/nocks/inserts/bow/draw weight/nock point/release/rest. Powder test and lipstick test great. Been shooting all summer, form is normal. But the flight is just plain awful.

Shooting my last set of XT hunters side-by-side, the hunters fly as they should: great.

Anyone?

30-Sep-14
I mean XT Hunters vs Expedition Hunters… sorry 'bout that!

30-Sep-14
may have got miss labeled, when you cut your shafts you trim from both ends? are nocks the same and inserts? have you checked straightness. on one of the archery forms I member seeing something on miss labeled gold tip.

30-Sep-14
Have you weighed them? I bought a dozen 7595s off ebay a couple years ago that were actually 5575s. I had the same flight problem until I weighed them and figured out they were mislabeled.

01-Oct-14
Yup. I cut 2" off the nock end and then cut to length from the other before building as usual.

I'll weigh 'em up, maybe do a home-grown spine test. Just need time.

I'll keep y'all posted. Mite take a couple days.

Well, this is what I get for building and testing arrows 1 week away from whitetail season! Thank God I have a few old faithfuls in the quiver ready to go!

01-Oct-14