midwest 06-Jul-15
writer 06-Jul-15
Drahthaar 07-Jul-15
midwest 03-Jun-18
Fuzz 03-Jun-18
27-Oct-14

Tradman and Huntress's embedded Photo
My husband and I have been guiding and outfitting hunts for many years, and over the past fourteen or so have employed the use of a blood tracking dog to help recover wounded animals. Unfortunately when our veteran tracker Sage became terminally ill, we were forced to resort back to tracking by sight for a couple of years. This experience made us realize the value of a tracking dog to help recover wounded game. Now before I go any further, I'd like to clarify that a tracking dog is not used to hunt game in any way. The tracking dog is used solely to help recover animals that have been shot, and simply can not be found by conventional means. This is especially important in salvaging meat in warm weather, or areas with coyotes or other predators that may feast on your dead animal.

With the passing of Sage, we have now acquired a new blood tracking prospect which is starting her training this week. She is just nine weeks old and I decided to document our entire training regimen to perhaps help others who may be interested in training their own tracking dog. In most states it is legal to track only on a leash, so that's what we're going to do with Kai.

Before we begin, I'd like to add that the most valuable resource you can get before attempting to train your own dog is a copy of John Jeanneney's book "Tracking Dogs for Finding Wounded Deer". This book goes into great detail in helping you not only train your dog, but in choosing a good prospect. It can be ordered at www.born-to-track.com.

27-Oct-14
Bring it !

27-Oct-14
What breed is Kai ? Daschund ?

27-Oct-14

cityhunter's embedded Photo
cityhunter's embedded Photo