HuntnBigGame 24-Nov-14
hbfd138 25-Nov-14
Mule Power 25-Nov-14
The Yode 25-Nov-14
The Old Sarge 25-Nov-14
Mule Power 25-Nov-14
Huntcell 25-Nov-14
22-Nov-14
I am new to Western hunting and was looking for opinions on preference points. At some point in the future I am interested in doing DIY hunts for Elk, Mule Deer and possible a Big Horn. Without a firm plan in place, does it make sense to start appling for points now? What would be the best place to start collecting info on which States to apply in? In the meantime I will most likely be trying to hunt with an outfitter for Mule Deer or another Pronghorn. Thanks to Pat for this site and all the information and amazing hunt stories that I have been able to learn from.

Brian

22-Nov-14
Lots to think about. Every state is dfferent. Some are worth getting in the game. Some aren't But one thing worth mentioning is that there is some darn good hunting for elk and mulies without banking points. Sheep is a whole other story.

One thing I'd say... before you pile up a bunch of elk pints and then go burn them learn how to hunt elk. You wouldn't want to cash in your points before getting a bit of an education first.

22-Nov-14
Collect points for deer, elk and sheep in CO. Some good elk hunts and some great deer opps for 2 or less. Hunt elk in WY and MT on a general tag, plenty good options (you need 1pt for WY). Collect lope pts for WY, some awesome hunts for 3 or less. Good luck!

22-Nov-14
Have a savings account to cover your apps each year. As you build to it you can expand applications to new states and species.

22-Nov-14
Have you checked out the states that don't have points?

22-Nov-14
How old are you?

22-Nov-14
Sarge, I have not considered states that don't have points. As I said I am still new to this big game hunting thing and am still learning.