cnelk 30-Jun-15
LUNG$HOT 30-Jun-15
FLGator 30-Jun-15
Mike-TN 30-Jun-15
trophyhilll 01-Jul-15
oldgoat 01-Jul-15
Mad_Angler 06-Jul-15
30-Jun-15
So, I'm an absolute beginner. I've never even seen an elk.

How do you elk hunt? I mean specifically.

I have a StartMyHunt map coming. Now what?

Do I approach from downwind calling like a cow? Bugling like a bull? Do I find a good spot and just glass?

I know how to hunt deer: Find obvious funnels or travel paths, setup a treestand and wait.

I know how to hunt turkey: Set up in a good spot and wait. Or walk along, calling every once in a while. Set up when one answers.

I know how to hunt moose: Find a good spot. Call a bit, shoot them if they come in. Or glass the hillsides. When you see one, go kill him.

Will any of those techniques work for elk?

30-Jun-15

LINK's Link
Take your turkey and moose hunting skills and go kill an elk, leave your whitetail skills at home. Depending on where your going I would focus on killing non vocal elk. Find them and figure out how to get amongst them. If you get lucky and find vocal elk, call them in or use their chatter to keep tabs on them as you close in silently. Here's a good link.

30-Jun-15
They will all work it all just depends on where you are at, what the elk and other hunters are doing.

I like to run and gun. Cover lots of ground until I find elk. Then I figure out the best approach. I always just cover tons of miles, then when I find them hone in on them and slowly work my way in with the wind etc. Realize a bumped elk may run 500 yards or 5 miles. Once they are bumped out of a spot they will seldom return anytime soon.

Glassing helps when they have not been pushed into the deep timber, sitting a water hole can work when water is rare or when you have the perfect spot, but more time than not my success comes from hunting hard, hunting fast but silent and simply covering ground.