MaBow 28-Aug-15
r-man 28-Aug-15
jdrdeerslayer 30-Aug-15
mrw 11-Sep-15
jdrdeerslayer 16-Sep-15
10-Aug-15

jdrdeerslayer's DeerBuilder embedded Photo

So about 3 weeks ago I planted a brassica mix along side of my soy beans (probally 1.5 acres) and for the most part the are doing g good except it's getting invaded by these weeds. I've been battling them for 3-4 years now.so what are they and what can I do? This year like in past years I killed the plot with gly then tilled ,smoothed,seeded,and cultipack. For some reason certin areas of the plot get choked out by these. Any suggestions? Here's the plot as of yesterday....

10-Aug-15

Here's some of the weeds I'm taking about. On a plus note I've noticed in previous years it dies out quickly as it gets colder but it tends to crowd out stuff during growing season.

10-Aug-15

Crowded area pretty much the back 1/3 in the 1st pic

10-Aug-15

Crowded area pretty much the back 1/3 in the 1st pic

10-Aug-15
Ragweed.

10-Aug-15
Agree - Ragweed. Nothing to kill it without killing the brassica.. What kind of brassica? It should compete ok with ragweed, deer also browse ragweed quite readily

10-Aug-15
I don't worry too much about ragweed either, but your post brought something else to mind. If you have weeds that you can't spray, you can always use a weed wiper. For those not familiar with it, it's just a pvc pipe covered with canvas. It has weep holes drilled in it, and you fill it with a strong gly solution. The flow is regulated with a plastic water hydrant ( hose bib ) so that the canvas is always wet, but not dripping much. Mount it to a four wheeler ( mine is on a golf cart and I can regulate the height ) and just drive through the weeds , smearing the gly on the weeds as the crop is down below where it is unaffected. You can get them as big as you can handle and they are pretty cheap. It works well !

10-Aug-15