Scar Finga 04-May-17
yeager 04-May-17
kota-man 04-May-17
deerhaven 04-May-17
Brotsky 04-May-17
deerhaven 04-May-17
Brotsky 04-May-17
03-Sep-15
OK everybody. I hope you are not all burned out on goat and sheep hunts quite yet.

Some of you were good enough to look at my last thread named Pictures for goat hunters. That was the one where I had taken my wife on a backpack trip to get familiar with the terrain and habits of goats. She had drawn an AK goat tag and was in need of a confidence booster. Well we just got home from her goat hunt. I thought I owe some of you a follow up story.

It is going to be tough to follow up bowonly's awesome saga and I should give it a little time, but we are leaving for elk next week, as many of are, and I want to do this while it is fresh in my mind.

I would also like to take this time to thank the Bowsite members that took time to share some of their knowledge on equipment and technique. I have been doing these hunts for 40 years and I still feel there is a lot to learn. Equipment changes and we learn new lessons all the time. We should remember how lucky we are to have a place to easily share what we have experienced.

Here goes. Mike

03-Sep-15
This all started when my college age daughter who I had promised a hunt to for getting through college finally came up with the idea she would like to try a goat hunt. Because of her schedule and not wanting to be on a waiting list forever an August Kodiak Island goat hunt seemed to be the perfect solution.

At the last moment we contacted Paul Chervenak of Kodiak Outdoors to see if we could still get in the draw. My first question was if he had any interest in guiding a woman goat hunter. He didn't even flinch. Next I approached him with a woman goat hunter that was a bowhunter. He actually sounded kind of excited about it as he said no problem and told me about his past experience which was extensive.