wildwilderness 24-Dec-15
Txnrog 26-Dec-15
spike buck 26-Dec-15
Sitting Bull 28-Dec-15
wildwilderness 29-Dec-15
Sitting Bull 30-Dec-15
Paul T 01-Jan-16
24-Dec-15
I was wondering if anyone has experience shipping a Euro Mount from Australia to the US? I have a Sambar mount I shot a few months ago that I need to ship back to the states.

My parents (non-hunters) are living there (Melbourne) and have the mount. They say there are a bunch of rules and customs issues with shipping "animal parts".

Any tips or advice where to start in getting it shipped back? can it be checked in luggage?

Thanks

26-Dec-15
Do you have contact with a local Taxidermist or Outfitter?

I got a buffalo shipped back about a year ago. Wasn't a big deal, but there was some vet paperwork certifying that it was clean, then I had to do the paperwork on the US side - I used a broker and got about $700 in clearing charges that I probably could have avoided if I had the time to get a port exemption permit (not needed if you live near a wildlife port) and meet the customs agent for inspection. Not as bad as getting stuff back from Africa, but wasn't like bringing something back from Canada.

26-Dec-15
Best to contact the USFW service for rules and regs. I know first hand that one forgotten permit will keep you from getting your mount. They will impose heavy fines for forgotten permits.

Customs have no idea of what you need. Talk to the top!!

28-Dec-15
I would contact Gary Pegg at South Pacific Taxidermy. He is in Melbourne and can organise all of the paperwork for you. He is an accredited Quarantine receiving agent for international hunting trophies. He also ships world wide.

http://www.southpacifictaxidermy.com/

Cheers,

Chris

29-Dec-15

wildwilderness's embedded Photo
wildwilderness's embedded Photo
Thanks for the tips.