MDW 06-Feb-16
writer 06-Feb-16
MDW 07-Feb-16
Oakie 08-Feb-16
Thornton 09-Feb-16
deerman406 10-Feb-16
Quinn @work 11-Feb-16
06-Feb-16
Does anyone here hunt in or near this county in S/E Kansas ? If so I'd love to hear about your experiences here and the quality of the deer herd / trophy buck potential in this area of Kansas. I've never hunted Kansas and am just trying to do a little homework so your input is greatly appreciated.

06-Feb-16
Greg, you might have more luck posting to the Kansas forum. Good luck on your search!

06-Feb-16
"Greg, you might have more luck posting to the Kansas forum"

Maybe the funniest post all year!!...it's early ok? :)

06-Feb-16
Come on Steve... We all need some fun during the off season. Lol

06-Feb-16
Rick, this is the guy that said he actually hunts...no failure piles...he's good coming over to the KS page ;?)

23, I have no knowledge of that area as far as deer, but someone will, good luck on your hunt!

06-Feb-16
Lots of pressure, lots of leased land. Lots of guys come up from the SE US as it is the closest county in Kansas. I don't feel the trophy potential is nearly as good as other parts of the state. Lots of 2 and 3 three year olds get shot.

06-Feb-16
Also, from what I hear, there's considerable poaching in that whole eastern tier of counties. Crawford, Bourbon, etc.

06-Feb-16
Considerable amount of poaching in all parts of Kansas, Marvin. That includes folks who sneak over when the OK or MO rifle seasons are on, and pop Kansas bucks and sneak them across the border.

All parts of Kansas also has the potential to produce great deer, a lot depends on local hunting pressure and trophy management.

You know, you might want to ask this question on the MN, WI, MI or NY forums...all those guys know a lot more about Kansas deer hunting than us yocals and that live here, and have hunted from border to border for 50 years. :-)

07-Feb-16
You're right, as usual Writer, but he just asked about Crawford Co.