elkwatcher 11-Feb-16
casper 11-Feb-16
wyliecoyote 12-Feb-16
BULELK1 12-Feb-16
Garbo 12-Feb-16
Quinn @work 13-Feb-16
Brad 21-Feb-16
10-Feb-16
Dang Greenhorns... I'll try this again. Hey guys, I've been searching over maps and making several phone calls trying to get an idea what moose unit I'd prefer to hunt. This is most likely a hunt of a lifetime for me considering the years it's taken to accumulate enough preference points, I hope. I have it narrowed to a few areas in west central and southwest WY. If anyone has some experience hunting moose in these areas and willing to give up some info, I'd sure like to get a PM and learn about it. I can give some more details then. Thanks for any help!!!

10-Feb-16
Guys will be able to help you better if you list how many points you have and if you're going DIY or guided.

10-Feb-16
I have lots of moose "hunting" experience. Everywhere I look when I'm elk hunting there seems to be another bull.

I assume you are hunting on your own and not looking for an outfitter. If so make sure you have a plan to get that sucker out.

Ditto Idyll.... how many points?

10-Feb-16
Did 24 two years ago, going to take 15 points this year.

10-Feb-16
I'm sitting on 14 points, definitely diy! Pack out will be the biggest issue by far. I'll go later in the cooler weather, later in September and in October if another trip is needed.

10-Feb-16

Bowboy's Link
Look at draw odds and see what unit you can draw with your current points.

10-Feb-16
unit 25 should be a possibility some wolves and grizz not bad but private land or outfitter would be best.

10-Feb-16
I hunted 25 two years ago and also tagged along with another hunter in 4 after I killed my bull. Lots of moose in those areas but I think you're still quite a few years out from being able to draw there.

Last year it took at least 14 to draw area 25 and only 28% of those with 14 drew. It's almost certainly going to take 15 or more thiis year unless you get lucky in the random draw.

10-Feb-16