smurph 11-Feb-16
casper 12-Feb-16
YZF-88 12-Feb-16
smurph 12-Feb-16
smurph 12-Feb-16
pav 12-Feb-16
HDE 12-Feb-16
11-Feb-16
put in for la sal bull elk, 12 points, what is my chance of drawing? thanks for any help. Utah of course.

11-Feb-16
Hard to say.

Last year, two guys competed for the bonus archery elk tag with 11 points. One of them got to hunt...so 50% odds....last year.

Problem is...we're talking one tag...so it only takes one applicant to throw a wrench in the odds.

11-Feb-16
That makes since, is there any way to know the size of the bulls killed there the last couple years? thanks for your info pav, is the hunt worth 12 points in your opinion?

11-Feb-16
I have no first hand experience in the unit, just looked up the draws odds for you on HuntersTrailhead.

Worth 12 points? Really depends on your goal. Plenty of public ground...and you should be into bulls in the 320" range...maybe better. If you are looking to put your tag on something considerably bigger...probably be best to wait.

11-Feb-16
I will look at hunter trailhead, not familiar with it. kind of had the same feel on the unit as you. I have kill four bulls over the years that are 290-305 net, so I was hoping 320-350, probably be disappointed to not have a realistic chance at that kind of bull.

11-Feb-16
do you have to pay to use hunters trailhead?

11-Feb-16
Yes. The price just went up from $25/yr to $35/yr. It's still worth it.

11-Feb-16

YZF-88's Link
This one appears to be free. I looked at how they do the math to calculate the odds and it makes sense.

11-Feb-16
I have hunted that unit quite a few years for spike or cows. I hunted deer on it too. The first years we hunted it were just for deer. As the years passed the elk herd grew. It is loaded with elk and spike/cow hunters. There are a lot of nice bulls if you are willing to work for them. My buddies son shot a 350"t bull with a rifle a few years back. If I could draw I would go for it myself

11-Feb-16