brianhood 14-Apr-16
brianhood 14-Apr-16
Rock 14-Apr-16
Glunt@work 14-Apr-16
WV Mountaineer 14-Apr-16
brianhood 14-Apr-16
WV Mountaineer 14-Apr-16
14-Apr-16
Turkey season in New Mexico doesn't open until Friday and I'm already feeling frustrated. I have a spot I've been hunting with my bow for a few years, but haven't taken a bird yet. I've had encounters, but I couldn't connect.

This year I was told I would get a chance at some birds in a private ranch that we always camp, but never hunt. The person with the key kept putting scouting off until just today. We found sign and I started feeling confident I could get a good chance at some long beards. Then he tells me he was worried about rain so we wouldn't hunt it.

I think "big whoop" at least now I knew what my plan was at this point' I'd hunt the spot I always hunt. Then I get a text from a buddy that shotgun hunts. "We saw 6 toms today we are going to hunt." I thought "awesome!" And asked where. . My spot!

Now I have mentioned birds in the general area to them kind of assuming they'd stick to their spot they always hunt. We seemed to have an understanding that we stayed away from each others areas. They were usually successful in the area they hunted. They even told me the spot they planned on hunting a couple weeks ago.

I told him that I was hoping he didn't find my exact spot and that "it's bad luck to hunt a mans spot" jokingly, to be somewhat non confrontational but still get my point across haha. he just said "well it happens".

This is public land and I completely understand that I messed up by telling them anything. It's just a shame that people are like this, especially those I thought were good friends.

Sorry for the long complain fest. I think I just needed to vent to anyone about it. There's a chance they are further off from the spot, but it still grinds my gears a bit. I suppose it'll feel even better when I put an arrow through a Tom out there now.