nehunter 29-Aug-16
Backpack Hunter 29-Aug-16
Cornfed 77 29-Aug-16
APauls 29-Aug-16
Matt 29-Aug-16
ohiohunter 30-Aug-16
Genesis 30-Aug-16
27-Aug-16
For those with experience with mechanical heads how are they when it comes to secondary cutting.

Buy this I mean when the arrow stays in the animal vs. pass-through. With blades that move I would assume the secondary damage would be much less than a fixed head would cause as the animal moves.

Any first hand thoughts on this aspect of broadhead lethality would be helpful.

27-Aug-16
I have very little experience with MBH's not fully penetrating unless stuck in heavy bone, so I cannot be of much help.

27-Aug-16
Bou any footage I ever saw on TV guys shooting them big cut Rage BH's, and the BH stays in, they ALWAYS recovered the buck a few days later so I would say they must be making all sorts of damage since they always recover the rack. It also helps to have a healthy population of crows and buzzards to assure the rack is recovered before the mice start chewing on it.

27-Aug-16
The funny thing they are saying now about Rage in their own advertising is "they cut a huge entry hole" they never mention an exit hole. Shawn

27-Aug-16
Troll much?.... Ha

27-Aug-16
Serious question ? I'll give a serious answer. I have zero experience using mechs on mammals, but they are all I will use when hunting turkeys. They will almost always hang up inside the turkeys vitals and cut the hell out of everything as the turkey is doing his flip-flops.

The only kills on mammals that I'm familiar with, have been two antelope my best friend killed with a Spitfire. One stuck in the off shoulder blade, no secondary cutting there. One was a pass through, totally deflating the lungs. Antelope still ran 300 yards, but what the hell, it's Wyoming, and you can see 3,000 yards.

27-Aug-16
yes it is a serious question.

27-Aug-16

Dooner's embedded Photo
Dooner's embedded Photo