Mathews Inc.
Chuckwalla's Sheep Survey
Wild Sheep
Contributors to this thread:
NvaGvUp 17-Oct-16
17-Oct-16
Gang,

Here's some information re. an aerial sheep survey I flew today:

Although I've been on several helicopter sheep captures on behalf of CA WSF, today was the first time I've helped on a helicopter survey. At DFW's Sheep Coordinator Regina Abella's request, I went down to Blythe yesterday to help count sheep in the Chuckwalla Mountains, a range that hasn't been surveyed in over twenty years. It was a terrific experience and a great way for me to appreciate even more the dedication of Regina and her fellow DFW sheep team members. As a licensed pilot myself (but not for helicopters) it also gave me great confidence in our new helicopter survey firm, Air Shasta Rotor and Wing from Redding, and especially in their chief pilot, Dave Everson.

When you capture sheep, you fly a couple of hundred feet above the ground and even further away from the slopes, the rock out-cropping's, and the rocky cuts until you find a target to net gun. Only then do you 'go low.'

But when you fly a survey, at least when you fly a survey in the in the Chuckwallas with Dave, you are more often than not within yards of both the ground below, the slopes of the canyons and draws next to you, as well the rock out-cropping's and cuts all the time. You 'go low' all the time!

Indeed, we were more often than not flying by and shooting over and next to the rocks and cuts at a distance of no more than twenty to thirty FEET!

That will get your heart going!