dgildy 15-Mar-17
Rickm 15-Mar-17
Bowboy 15-Mar-17
SBH 15-Mar-17
BULELK1 16-Mar-17
ElkNut1 16-Mar-17
hillbender 16-Mar-17
12-Mar-17
I would appreciate input on planning my DIY, public land elk hunt in south central Wyoming this fall.

I'll point out that I am a novice but hunted the area in 2014. I was advised once not to go out to this area before September 14, because the bulls never start bugling in this area before the 14th.

I am planning to take 3 weeks to drive out and hunt. My question is should I plan to leave September 9th and hunt through the end of Sept, or should I leave a week earlier, and gain a "free day" of vacation for labor day? So in that case I would have two weeks before the elk started becoming vocal, and one with bugling - but the pressure may be lighter. Or I would have 2 weeks of bugling, but presumably more pressure.

From my previous trip, it did not seem there was much pressure, but the bugling was really minimal even after the 14th (which was exactly the morning they did start!)

Thoughts appreciated! Thanks for your help.

Dave

12-Mar-17
Every week in Sept has it's pro's and con's Although the odds for bugling action may be better later in the month, that's certainly not a given. There have been years the bulls have been talking good the first week, then become quiet as a church mouse for the rest of the month. Also, If you find a wallow, it's likely to be used more frequently that first week. Long story short, the better you know your area, the better the first week can be.

Although it's true bulls may become more vocal around the middle of the month, therefore easier to find, you're not the only one to think that makes it the best time to hunt. The 2nd and 3rd weeks are a zoo! Another reason earlier can be better is that herd bulls aren't surrounded by a dozen sets of eyes, ears , and noses. They can also be more susceptible to calling in before they gather their harems.