WV Mountaineer 08-Apr-17
TD 08-Apr-17
Ermine 09-Apr-17
ELKMAN 09-Apr-17
Beendare 09-Apr-17
Canuck 09-Apr-17
Ermine 09-Apr-17
07-Apr-17
I figured yesterday was as good a day as any to start getting my setup ready for the Utah archery deer/elk opener in August, and with a little work I got my stingers and field points grouping together. Being a newb I didn't even think to start with any other tuning methods like bare shaft tuning or walk back tuning. If my broadhead tune is good can I just say that is good enough, or am I missing something here? Do I need to go back and walk back tune for any reason?

07-Apr-17
There are lots of ways to skin that cat. Too me walk back tuning is in the neighborhood of shooting paper. Which I would do before broadhead tuning. I have done both methods prior to broadlead tuning. There have been times where I shot paper and never made an adjustment while walk back tuning. There have been times I had to. However more times then not I had to make an adjustment while broadhead tuning.

07-Apr-17
If your broadheads and field points are grouping together to the same point of impact at all ranges you intend to shoot during the season that is all that matters to this guy. Just recheck your tune before the season starts in case there was any changes. Enjoy!

08-Apr-17
IMHO.... yes. If the FBBH and FP group together it means your launch is so true the fixed blade broadhead has little to no influence on the arrow flight in relation to the control group/field point, which don't show you anything WRT how they come off the bow, the fletching overcomes most shortcomings.

Many feel "tuned" is just getting good grouping with your FBBH, sight in for broadheads and good to go. In reality all that means is you have a reasonable consistency in how they each catch air on release. But if they don't group together, the launch is still not optimum.