willliamtell 16-Apr-17
Ucsdryder 16-Apr-17
Icepique 16-Apr-17
SBH 16-Apr-17
Ucsdryder 16-Apr-17
12-Apr-17

Ucsdryder's embedded Photo
I have a feeling this will be long. I have a tendency to verbal vomit! Also, this is my first attempt at a hunt recap and after reading recaps for a decent number of years and enjoying them all, I felt obligated to “give” back. I waited until April figuring that my crappy story would still be better than arguing about mechanicals and fixed heads!

12-Apr-17

Iphone through a spotter...can you see anything?
Iphone through a spotter...can you see anything?
2016 was my second year archery hunting elk in Colorado after moving to Colorado in December 2014. I have yet to kill an elk with my bow, but I was successful last year with a rifle cow tag. My tag went unfilled in the 2015 archery elk season, but I did get into a few elk and could have (should have) shot a cow that walked into me at 10 yards. I was determined to kill an elk in 2016. With the help of a fellow bowsiter I started hitting new areas. I picked up a couple cameras and spent the summer checking them and moving them trying to find an OTC honey hole. I found a few elk, deer and moose but my plans changed when I was able to get a limited entry tag that was turned back in the left over drawing.

With no time to scout, I went up the day before the season, got out my shiny new spotting scope and started glassing some empty hillsides. An hour before dark the elk started to appear like ants. I lost track of the bulls, I counted somewhere between 8-12. I took some terrible pictures through the spotter with my camera phone and came up with a plan. It was a 3.5 mile hike to get to the hillside where the elk were feeding and looking across the 3.5 miles, it looked doable…almost easy! The plan was set. I would start hiking at 3:30AM to get in position at first light on the hillside to intercept a bull.

12-Apr-17

That wasn't supposed to be there!
That wasn't supposed to be there!