Zim1 06-May-17
jims 06-May-17
writer 07-May-17
Timbrhuntr 07-May-17
jims 07-May-17
writer 07-May-17
Ziek 07-May-17
05-May-17
I am fairly new to turkey hunting. Maybe not to new to trying, but new to actually finally finding an area that has birds...we have to wait a LONG time in Alberta to get drawn. I have been traveling out of country to hunt turkeys, and I have been hitting one area of farmland pretty hard. There are lots of birds, but many of them have seen my decoys and heard my calls, they also get a little shy of the blind. 2 big Toms in particular are very keen and I 'd sure like for either my son or I to get him! Any similar experiences? Outside of finding a new spot, advice? What's the secret to cracking this turkey code?

05-May-17

Ermine's embedded Photo
Ermine's embedded Photo
That's the fun of turkey hunting!

Throw them for a loop! Try a heads up decoy

05-May-17
Pattern them, like you would deer, if possible. Turkeys are a lot easier to call when you're already sitting where they want to go. ...and I don't think turkeys are very smart, but they can be darned wary...but, the next day they may be dumb as a post. See if you can find an experienced hunter to go with you, as a tag along. Most are willing to go, just for the fun of calling in a bird for someone else. Have fun, keep after them.

05-May-17
They are not smart, just great eyesight and scared of anything that resembles something that might eat them. They can get call/blind shy but as stated above 10 minutes after you are convinced your decoys and blinds are ruining everything, one might come charging in and spend a couple minutes beating up the decoy.

05-May-17
Watch "my life as a wild turkey" and you might change your mind on turkeys not being "smart"

06-May-17