Ken Moody Safaris 13-Sep-17
HockeyDad 15-Sep-17
Ambush 15-Sep-17
APauls 15-Sep-17
GF 15-Sep-17
GF 15-Sep-17
GF 15-Sep-17
19-Jul-17
I'm showing up late tp the bowhunting party at age 46, but better late...

I started shooting a bow because my kids take lessons after school and you can't just let kids have all the fun. I just kid of got into it and decided this is the year to start hunting with it.

Im shooting a Diamond SB1 and I can put 6 field points into a softball size out to 30. Not great but better than I thought Id get.

The question is broadheads. I want simple and effective. Was really thinking about Cabelas Lazer Strike2. Good reviews and good price.

Thoughts? Ideas?

Grouse

19-Jul-17
Save yourself alot of time, money, and aggravation...pick up a pack of Slick Trick Viper Tricks, and you'll never look back. Good luck and welcome to the wonderful world of archery & bowhunting!

19-Jul-17
Or even better skip the tricks and get qad exodus!

19-Jul-17
Honestly, just about every BH on the market will kill a deer as long as you do your part. When I first started bow hunting my cousin would buy the craziest one available for me to try each year. That's right, I have killed deer with Brax, atom, toxic, Grimm Reapers and grave diggers. Some worked better than others but at the end of the day, they all will kill. I think you will find that people swear by brand 'x' or 'y', but imho what is at the end of your arrow is a whole lot less important than your ability as a hunter to wait for a good shot and stick one through the vitals. If they are a good price, yes you should buy them.

19-Jul-17
Find someone local to help you get set up right. Best of luck!

19-Jul-17
If you are using the hostage rest I advise going with a mechanical head that flies similar to a field point. That rest, imo, is extremely hard to tune for a fixed blade broadhead

19-Jul-17
Charlie has the best advice! Find a bowhunter nearby to help mentor you a little as you get started.

19-Jul-17