midwest 04-Aug-17
Native Okie 04-Aug-17
HUNT MAN 04-Aug-17
hobbes 04-Aug-17
Ermine 04-Aug-17
hobie 06-Aug-17
wyobullshooter 07-Aug-17
03-Aug-17
I'm a rookie elk caller. only elk hunted 5 times.

i am a very good turkey caller, and know how to use a diaphragm call.

i can already bugle ok, and make cow sounds. been using some primos calls....

what calls do you prefer?

03-Aug-17
bugling bull. They have a good assortment you can buy in a kit. Easy to pick out the ones you like.

03-Aug-17
I like Primos calls for elk diaphragm calls.

03-Aug-17
Bugling Bull

Bull Sounds you can't go wrong with the tried and true "Raging Bull" (Brown Reed)

Cow sounds the best there is "Mellow Yellow" (Yellow Reed)

Good Luck!

03-Aug-17
Bugling Bull...Elk Nut turned me on to the Mistress and I'm using that I'm our calling seminars now. A very versital diaphragm with excellent results.

03-Aug-17
Bugling Bull...I prefer the Elk 101 All-Star for all sounds.

03-Aug-17
Carlton Triple is the only one I've been able to get good bull sounds with. The domed calls don't work well for me for some reason.

Best of Luck, Jeff

03-Aug-17
The best thing to do is buy a bunch of different ones and you'll find some work better for you than others. I do pretty well with Mistress, Raging Bull, All Star and Challenge (all from Bugling Bull) but for some reason can't make the Mellow Yellow Mama sound good at all. Everyone and their brother says it's super easy but not for me. I recently picked up some Phelps Amp calls and so far they seem okay for me but I haven't tried them much.

It sucks to have to buy 10 diaphragm calls to find out 3-4 work for you and the others don't, but I don't know any other way. Everyone has a different sized mouth.

03-Aug-17
Different strokes for different folks. My all around favorite is the Primos Imperial Plate (red).