Beendare 22-Aug-17
DartonJager 23-Aug-17
TD 23-Aug-17
Pigsticker 23-Aug-17
Matt 24-Aug-17
Pigsticker 24-Aug-17
Jethro 24-Aug-17
21-Aug-17
I bought a 2014 Darton DS3714 that was untouched NIB last year and finally got around to shooting it this year. I bought it out of pure nessesity as my other bows were all 60-70lb DW and my shoulders just won't take it anymore so I opted for a 50-60lb DW bow. I'm no expert but I tuned it well enough to stack arrows out to 45 yards. Then I put on my first broad head and my POI changed to 6" left and 2" down. My DW was set at 55-56lbs and I was assured by several so called experts that my arrows were not over spined and these same experts as well as others at websites like AT were confident in telling me with todays modern compounds and carbon arrows that being over spined is actually not that important and the proper spine for a any given bow is very forgiving. Well I double and triple checked my set up and tune for everything I could think of but cam timing as I don't own the equipment needed to do so. I found a archery pro shop that also sold Dartons and I went there seeking help. If some recall I reported about this shop in a previous post giving it a stellar review. I'm speaking of River Side Archery in Sumuva Resorts Indiana. The owner looked over my bow said all looked good, then checked the timing of my cams said they were fine. Asked what arrows I shot and he said well you are over spined, I said but so and so said blah, blah, blah. He simply handed me a correctly splined arrow and although not where I was aiming, my field points and BH's impacted under 2" from each other and this was in a quite strong cross wind at 20 yards. Fast forward almost 3 weeks and I finally got to do some real shooting in low/no wind conditions and after only three sight adjustments my FP's and BH's are consistently hitting less than 2" from each other out to 30 yards. My shoulders started to let me know it was time to call it a day so I stopped t