WRBloodTrail 24-Aug-17
Shawn 24-Aug-17
WapitiBob 24-Aug-17
WRBloodTrail 24-Aug-17
x-man 25-Aug-17
carcus 25-Aug-17
WRBloodTrail 30-Aug-17
23-Aug-17
I'm shooting a Hoyt maxis 31. I've developed a problem where after my bow has broke over on the draw back and I'm getting steady, it wants to fall back over. I've replaced string and cables and had the timing adjusted. My question is do you think it's something in my form that is causing it. It started last year and is progressively getting worse. I've recently turned the poundage down and am still having the problem. I'm not new to shooting, as I have been bowhunting for 15 years, but have never had anybody teach correct form. All help and input is appreciated.

24-Aug-17
If I'm reading correctly, it sounds like you're not keeping up the pulling motion at anchor. In other words, your not holding anchor under tension....keep pulling with your back muscles at anchor while you work the trigger, don't just hold it. Wouldn't be surprised if the string is creeping forward a bit before the shot, not a good thing as it leads to inconsistent shooting. This is very common when a draw length is to long, not saying yours is but could be. Either way, Yes to form issue.

24-Aug-17
Shorten the draw maybe 1/4" so your hard into the back end. Give each end of the string 3 turns or so.

24-Aug-17
It sounds like you are relaxing at full draw but like the other guys said you need to teach yourself to pull hard into the wall through the shot.

24-Aug-17
A common problem is that your front shoulder will raise and cause you to collapse.

24-Aug-17
I have this problem shooting a Matthews Creed but none of my other bows. The advice above is all sound but remember to squeeze the shoulder blades together at full draw.

24-Aug-17
I have this problem shooting a Matthews Creed but none of my other bows. The advice above is all sound but remember to squeeze the shoulder blades together at full draw.

24-Aug-17