Bow junkie 31-Oct-17
ELKMAN 01-Nov-17
JL 02-Nov-17
Ken Moody Safaris 03-Nov-17
JL 03-Nov-17
snareman 04-Nov-17
WapitiBob 04-Nov-17
30-Oct-17
I'm brand new to mechanical broadheads. I have shot fixed blades for a long time and now I'm trying mechanical broadheads - mostly out of curiosity just to see if I've been missing anything.

I picked up a pack of Rage Hypodermics (2" 2 blade) on ebay and they were sealed in the package, along with instructions and Rage decal. Having never shot a mechanical I thought I should read the instructions and fitted each with a "shock collar".

When I screwed the heads on my arrows (Easton Axis 5mm) I checked them with a spin tester and was surprised. Only 1 of the heads spun true. The other 2 heads wobbled no matter what I tried. I verified the arrows were straight. 2 out of 3 were simply not straight. The practice head was absolutely straight, but this didn't do me much good.

So my question is whether my experience is typical? Is there another brand of mechanical head that is straighter? Did I just get an unusually bad batch?

There were other things that seemed to be of poor quality (bad instructions, dull spots on blades).

Please don't make this a debate of mechanical vs fixed. I'm looking for a quality mechanical head for deer and elk. Thanks.

30-Oct-17
Have to be extremely carefull buying off e-bay. Not to descriminate here, but some asian countries are VERY good at copying broadheads, even packaging. Just to look at them, I have 7 or 8 china copies of rage heads, and can not tell the difference.

30-Oct-17

elkstabber's Link
These are what I bought. Was I suckered?

Is the real Rage a higher quality? Are they straight?

30-Oct-17