Ucsdryder 02-Nov-17
smarba 02-Nov-17
Ridge Ghost 02-Nov-17
EmbryOklahoma 02-Nov-17
lawnboi 02-Nov-17
Bake 03-Nov-17
APauls 03-Nov-17
31-Oct-17
I am not good at sharpening blades. So, I opt to use an electric sharpener. I notice after a couple of years of repeated sharpening, it is never as good as out of the box. Please bypass the advice on learning how to sharpen with a stone, I never get the angle the same every time.

The knifes that have the replaceable blades, what do you think of them? Recommendations please. And, do you carry a separate small bone saw for the pelvic and chest?

Appreciate your responses, thanks.

31-Oct-17

Swampbuck's embedded Photo
Swampbuck's embedded Photo
I use these. They put a hair shaving edge on all types of knives. Lite weight too. Just a suggestion, J

31-Oct-17

White Falcon's embedded Photo
White Falcon's embedded Photo
$7.00 Amazon

31-Oct-17
Another vote for the Accusharp.

The early replaceable blade "knives" had a problem with blades breaking and tricky to change out. The new ones I've used are very good and stay sharp. But I only use them when weight is an issue. Otherwise a custom Depperschmidt knife for me.

31-Oct-17
Buy a D2 blade.

31-Oct-17
My son could make an axe shave, and I taught him how to sharpen a knife. So how come he's so much better than me ?

Frank, I use an Outdoor Edge (?) I think it is. Pretty good knife for deer. I split the brisket with a tool designed for that purpose. Really works well, Deer Splitter from Viking Solutions, I keep it in my truck.

31-Oct-17
I sharpen on flat DMT stones, if the angles aren’t perfect the knife will still be shaving sharp. I’d look into a guided system if you want easier angle control. Budget friendly with good stones would be Spyderco Sharpmaker. For a lot more coin you could look at the Edge Pro Apex or similar systems.

Also, Havalon knives are awesome for game processing.

31-Oct-17