Scrappy 10-Nov-17
TGbow 10-Nov-17
rooster 12-Nov-17
Candor 12-Nov-17
Cheesehead Mike 15-Nov-17
APauls 15-Nov-17
Candor 15-Nov-17
10-Nov-17
I am new to hang on treestands, ground hunter most of my life, except for using a climber occasionally. Got the urge to hunt out of a treestand this season, wanted a mobil versatile setup I have a Millenium m7, with Hawk Helium sticks. I would appreciate the opinions from those of you that have tried the rope/versa button mods vs the cam straps. Which do you prefer?

10-Nov-17
I converted my lone wolf steps to ropes. Much faster and quieter. Also made them longer than the straps for bigger trees. I see no advantages for straps with buckles.

10-Nov-17
Can somebody post a pic or link on the rope&button system?

If you want Solid, it's hard to beat a ratchet strap.... but they are indeed fussy

10-Nov-17
I too converted all of my sticks to line and cleat. I hate the straps.

10-Nov-17

Teeton's Link
Heres a link to the mods .

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bF8Yz9wMno4

10-Nov-17
I've tried both on my heliums and very slightly prefer the cambuckles. I find them a little bit faster and they cinch to the tree tighter. The ropes are nicer for big trees though, they are easier to throw around the trunk, and lighter.

10-Nov-17
I use the original cam buckle straps that came on my lone wolf straps. I like them but they can be noisy. Never used the rope system but I might give it a try.

One thing I do for larger trees is carry three screw in steps. They are easy to put in while standing on the ground, get you up to a little smaller on the tree, and like having another ladder section to get higher.

10-Nov-17
Thanks fellas for the feedback.

10-Nov-17
I've use the straps and they're good. Yes it is possible to clink them. I tried the ropes but found them to be a tough "stretchy" which my setup instantly skechy feeling to me. I went back to the stock straps. Maybe I had the wrong rope I dunno.

10-Nov-17