wyobullshooter 05-Dec-17
Ny308Hunter 05-Dec-17
Arrowone 05-Dec-17
Quailhunter 06-Dec-17
Brotsky 06-Dec-17
rooster 06-Dec-17
Zbone 06-Dec-17
05-Dec-17
I’m new to the safety harness game. While putting on the safety harness or forgetting to stuck the tether with carabiner attached, it’s only a matter of time before I knock out a tooth.

Any tips not getting hit by the carabiner?

Do you leave the carabiner on the Prussic knot?

05-Dec-17
I’m new to the safety harness game. While putting on the safety harness or forgetting to stuck the tether with carabiner attached, it’s only a matter of time before I knock out a tooth.

Any tips not getting hit by the carabiner?

Do you leave the carabiner on the Prussic knot?

05-Dec-17
don't swing your harness too hard. I've always left my carabineer on my tether strap. never had a problem with it swinging around and hitting me.

05-Dec-17
I leave it on my harness. For some reason people love to steal them if left on the tree strap. I've never hit myself but one option would be to hang the carabiner from the belt itself until you climb. Mine has rings for attaching a linemans belt that it could be snapped onto.

05-Dec-17
I dont see any need for a caribeaner...I loop my safety strap thru a strap 'round the tree...dont need the weight, dont need the buckle...and yes....punch out a tooth

05-Dec-17
SJJ - You have a photo of how you do that?

05-Dec-17
Be more careful? No, seriously.

I prefer to keep mine on the harness tether. I use the lightweight ones from HSS.

05-Dec-17
I’m with Grunt-N-Gobble. Been using an HSS system for a long time. Conking myself on the head has never crossed my mind.

05-Dec-17
IF I use a carabiner, it stays on the tree strap. But I usually just strap direct now. One less thing, ya know?

05-Dec-17
On my Muddy harness I clip the carabiner onto the shoulder harness. Zbone I think he is putting the tree strap through tether loop before attaching the safety strap to the tree.

06-Dec-17