Ned 31-Dec-17
WapitiBob 31-Dec-17
Fuzz 01-Jan-18
Drop tine 01-Jan-18
Genesis 01-Jan-18
OFFHNTN 02-Jan-18
Gator 02-Jan-18
31-Dec-17
Not wanting to hijack a recent thread I'm in need of advice with a back tension release.... I am looking to improve my shooting accuracy and cure a mild case of occasional target panic. I have no experience with them and could use info for a starting point.

What style and/or brand? Wrist strap or no? And why? Recommend any literature?

Thank you! FUZZ

31-Dec-17
I am not sure how long I suffered from mild/occasional target panic but I do know that it went out of control about 7 years ago. I got to a point where I wouldn't shoot with my buddies. Heck, I couldn't even draw my bow back without dumping the arrow. It was crazy and I was just about to throw the bow away. I know it cost me some fine animals.

I bought Idiot Proof Archery by Bernie Pellerite. There are many good books but this is the one I bought and it helped me. I would send it to you but I gave it to someone else a couple of years ago.

After reading the book I bought a hinge release (Scott Longhorn Hex). There are many good releases out there so check around. Ideally you could go to your local archery shop and shoot a couple or ask some of the guys that already are shooting a hinge at the range. I spent an entire winter shooting 3-10 yards in my basement learning back tension and developing a shot sequence.

Keep in mind that you can shoot a trigger release using back tension but for me I cannot. A lot of people will call a hinge release a back tension release. Some trigger releases have a hinge/hook like the short n sweet. Others here will give good recommendations.

Today I shoot with confidence knowing my arrow will hit the mark. Good luck. You are on the right path.

31-Dec-17