LKH 11-Jan-18
Shrewski 11-Jan-18
midwest 12-Jan-18
SBH 12-Jan-18
nvgoat 12-Jan-18
nvgoat 12-Jan-18
jims 12-Jan-18
11-Jan-18
As a non resident, I've got 10 points heading into the draw. Max pool is 12. I just read an article recommending some great units to apply - yet every unit required the max points last year from what I can tell. (both special and regular required 11). So, is there any chance to draw a unit that required max points last year if you don't have max points again this year? I'm making the assumption that there were/will be more applicants for first choice that had max points than tags available. This is a once per lifetime hunt for me. I'd hire an outfitter. Thinking I'd like to archery hunt and then return with rifle if I'm unsuccessful so I would NOT apply for an archery only tag.

Hope I said all this sensibly!

11-Jan-18
You do have some good options, but you will need to filter through them.

The top units are low % draw for max points. Most do not issue any tags on the random draw so your chances are basically nil for the max point units.

There are a number of very good options that you can draw for less than max points - especially if you are planning to go with an outfitter. Several of the units that consistently turn out the biggest bulls in the state can be drawn for way less than max points - mostly because they are big wilderness country that a non-resident will need to hire a guide to get back in there to the best country for hunting. Most of those also have grizzly bears and wolves that tend to deter many non-resident hunters.

If you want to do archery with the option of coming back for a rifle hunt, you will need to draw a rifle hunt in a unit that allows the early archery hunt (some don't). If you are going to hire an outfitter, talk to him about what you want to do.