sdkhunter 12-Feb-18
smarba 12-Feb-18
walks with a gimp 12-Feb-18
Wood 12-Feb-18
midwest 13-Feb-18
Julius Koenig 13-Feb-18
ELKMAN 13-Feb-18
11-Feb-18
I've been running a cable driven drop away for 7+ years. Thinking about finally shopping for a new bow. I will be keeping the one I have as a back-up. I'd like to hear some pros and cons from each? My biggest concern with a limb driven rest is the cord. I do some serious brush busting through nasty oakbrush while chasing mule deer and elk.

Please advise if you have any feedback. I'll be trying out bows in a couple weeks. It's been hard since the shops never have them in stock to try. I'm not spending money on something I can't put through paces so in the meantime, I can research rests at least.

11-Feb-18
I’ve used a Hamskea rest for the past 5 years and have never had an issue with the cord. A few suggestions.

1) Change the stock cord out with much tougher string loop cord. I use Pine Ridge Nitro string loop cord on my Hamskea Hybrid Hunter and had custom 12 strand strings made to replace the stock cord on two Hamskea Versa rests.

2) If you use a bow mounted quiver it and the arrows will help protect the cord. I use a Tight Spot and the cord runs tight to the front arrow and quiver.

11-Feb-18

TFTS's Link
I've used both, and am switching back to limb driven Trophy Taker this year. Actually changing my entire set up–bow, rest, and release.

11-Feb-18
I use a limb driven Trophy Taker. I don't like the long cord either but have had no problems since I started using Kevlar spearfishing line for the cord. The Kevlar line won't burn so you will have to use superglue on the ends.

11-Feb-18
Have you had a problem with your current setup? If not why change.

I have ran a cable driven rest and never had a reason to change. Once a limb driven rest like the Pro-V proves itself absolutely superior for hunting then I may look into it but until then I have no reason to change.

11-Feb-18