DeerNut 28-May-21
DeerNut 28-May-21
GF 30-May-21
jingalls 31-May-21
08-Mar-18

cnelk's Link
Anyone use this yet? Looks pretty slick

08-Mar-18
You can do the same thin with cotton balls and Vaseline. I have been doing that for 15 years. try it if you haven't, it burns very hot! I don't even have the fire biner!

08-Mar-18
Wouldn't it be easier to just carry a Bic lighter in your pack,rather than all those different components??!!

08-Mar-18
I always carry a Bic but don't trust it near as much as other forms of fire starter. A Bic is worthless when you get it wet. I want something with a HOT spark and storm proof matches. Always have cotton balls with vaseline and trioxine.

08-Mar-18
I carry a ziplock with firestarter, waterproof matches, a magnesium bar and striker , cotton balls and two zippo lighters, Probably overkill but never in a situation where I could not start a fire. God bless, Steve

08-Mar-18
lifeboat matches

08-Mar-18
I have a little kit with me all the time, even scouting and fishing. It has a carabiner-style Klipp windproof butane "super lighter", a magnesium push striker, some windproof matches, extra fine steel wool, vaseline-soaked cotton balls, dryer lint, and a chunk of long burning fire starter. Very compact, always in my little survival kit with First Aid and a space blanket, signal whistle, mini flashlight with extra AAA battery, little signal mirror.

Like Sixby, I'm going to be the guy the news reports as "Injured hunter found safe, in good condition".

08-Mar-18
I dunno - I thought it was neat - fire starter, utility blade, screwdriver, caribeaner and bottle opener all in one multi-tool for $10

08-Mar-18

White Falcon's embedded Photo
I use Ferro rods.

08-Mar-18

Or my F/S kit

08-Mar-18
Scar finger, instead of cotton balls, try lint from your dryer screen. Rub it with Vaseline. You can barely put the fire out! Weightless. I put it in small zip lock baggies. I also use a rod. The vaseline catches fire easily.

08-Mar-18