Ace 22-Mar-18
Lone Wolf 26-Mar-18
Hoytbowhunter 02-Apr-18
Bou'bound 02-Apr-18
BOHUNTER09 03-Apr-18
Lone Wolf 03-Apr-18
spike buck 03-Apr-18
22-Mar-18
I recently purchased a Maine bear hunt with a few friends for this September. This is my first bear hunt and I was wondering if anyone had any insight. Any items I should plan to take? Any regulations I should know or pay close attention to? Any feedback would be helpful. I am an OH resident that typically hunts deer and turkey with my bow. Thanks.

22-Mar-18
Wait until they're broadside and that front leg goes forward...and have fun! They're neat creatures to see.

22-Mar-18
Cool! Hope your successful. Hopefully some of the more accomplished and wise bear hunters on this site will chime in with some good advice. Here is mine.....giving to me from a man who has killed or caused more bears to be dead then many guides.

Wait for a good shot. You usually have a little time when hunting over bait. Unlike with deer where they are passing through, when a bear comes in to your bait, he is where he wants to be if he makes there. Wait for the right shot and enjoy watching a bear be a bear. It's pretty neat. Good luck!

22-Mar-18
Read all the old threads on Bear Hunting, lots of good advice, and lots of different opinions, so you can read both sides, and decide for yourself.

A couple of random thoughts: THERMACELL, get 2, and bring a LOT of replacement cartridges and pads. You are better off forgetting your bow than your thermacell. Anyone who tells you that "the bugs won't be bad then" is probably lying, if the bears are out, the bugs likely are too.

Study the anatomy of bears, they are pretty easy to kill with a sharp broadhead through both lungs or the heart. BUT, they can leave a sparse blood trail, so a good shot is especially important.

Listen to your guide, let him guide you, not the other way around, too many people pay for local expertise, then decide they know more.