grape 09-May-18
trophyhill 09-May-18
Hoytbowhunter 09-May-18
Treeline 09-May-18
Treeline 09-May-18
Lever Action 12-May-18
Silverback 12-May-18
10-Apr-18
I know those are lots of things that must happen to consistently shoot well, I've been shooting for over 40 years. My one key that if I get away from that will lead to poor shooting is not focusing on the target or spot. I sometimes go back to an old habit of focusing on the pin and it kills my accuracy and causes me to get a little target panic. Looking back on the misses and bad shots I've made hunting I almost 100% of the time lost my focus (or never had it) on where I wanted my arrow to hit. If you had to choose ONE key, what would it be?

10-Apr-18
Back tension

10-Apr-18
Follow through

10-Apr-18
Follow through for me as well.

10-Apr-18
Jasper , I had the same experience. All my misses or bad shots were due to loss of focus. Sometimes its hard to stay focused. Target Panick or Buckfever

10-Apr-18
It used to be automatic for me to shoot pretty well out to 50 yards, and that was normally as far as I practiced. Now, with my eyesight, it's mostly luck, and 30 or less.

I've never been as good as I wanted to be, probably because when I was young enough, with sound eyes and body, I didn't devote enough time to practice. Kinda hard to want to shoot when you got up at 5:00 AM, drove 250 miles to 3 or 4 jobs, and got home at 6:00 PM dead tired. My practice was mostly on whatever weekends I was off, usually on Sunday. Still, I've only lost two deer in my life and totally missed 3/4 others, all nannies that knew something wasn't right. I've always been an equal opportunity hunter, bow, handgun, rifle, so I don't have near as many bowkills as most of you.

10-Apr-18
The one key is consistent practice. If you consistently practice your shot sequence day in and out you will not break down at the moment of truth.

10-Apr-18
BotskyX2