JTreeman 13-Apr-18
wildwilderness 13-Apr-18
akbow 13-Apr-18
wild1 13-Apr-18
eddie c 13-Apr-18
PowderKeg77 16-Apr-18
TD 17-Apr-18
12-Apr-18
Does anyone have any experience bowhunting on the Big Island, Hawaii? I am going in July and the bow and a handful of arrows are coming with me. I have contacted a few guides but they seem unreliable and uninterested. I have seen several videos of DIY guys getting it done with a bow and I need some advice. Anyone? Thanks in advance!

13-Apr-18
I’m FAR from an expert, but in my research it seemed that the big island was almost entirely private land. Maybe I just didn’t look in the right places, but seemed pretty slim for public DIY to me. Several Huge cattle ranches take up a lot of it. I hunted with a guide when I was there, super good guy, not sure if he is still doing hunts or not though.

I bet there are guys on here with better info on it than me though. Good luck.

—jim

13-Apr-18

wildwilderness's embedded Photo
Very nice Big Island Billy
wildwilderness's embedded Photo
Very nice Big Island Billy
It's possible, though not as easy to figure out as other islands. I hunted the Kona side once on public but was extremely fortunate to connect with a local bowhunter who let me tag along. I would target goats since they are generally easier and more abundant than the sheep. Pigs would be a bonus but they are smart and harder to spot. Talk to as many locals, Divison FW people to figure it out. The area I hunted was limited to weekends only and 1 billy tag so there are regulations. Avoid areas with recent culling activity.

There is the guided way but they can be very expensive on the Big Island, maybe that's why they aren't interested...

13-Apr-18