HighLife 23-Nov-12
Hoyt 24-Nov-12
Burt 24-Nov-12
Vids 24-Nov-12
Hoyt 25-Nov-12
bigbear2 01-Dec-12
Hoyt 01-Dec-12
19-Nov-12
Hello I live in WV and am curious about your public lands. Just wondering how good they are and if they are as good as the private land. I know IL has big bucks through out the state. Just curious if you do see alot of big bucks in your public lands. Any information would be greatly appreciated, looking to hunt either Ohio or Illinois next year on public lands. I dont want your honey holes either. Ill research with topo maps and aerial photos, just curious on how good the public lands are there.

19-Nov-12
ohio is closer, cheaper, has more public land and as many if not more big bucks, less pressure too. just look on the main forum at all the public land monster ohio bucks.

there really is no comparison. ohio is where it is at, unless u draw an iowa tag, considering your location.

19-Nov-12
x2 with ryanrc

20-Nov-12
I've been bowhunting IL for 12 years and I can tell you there is some good public land hunting. However the last 4-5 years I've really seen an increase in hunters and a decrease in deer numbers. I've not really noticed a decline in bucks or good bucks just does. I think they need to eliminate the OTC doe tags for archery. I can also say don't expect to even see a good deer (125-145)in one week of hunting. I hunt from opening day to closing day and might see 1-2 deer in that range all season. Some years are better than others but that's about the average. That being said I love the diverse choices of public land that they offer, if you want to hunt rolling hills, mountain like hills, big woods, small woodlots, or swamps you can find all of them.

20-Nov-12

hoyt's embedded Photo
hoyt's embedded Photo
I hunt Shawnee in S. Illinois and don't see near the deer I did 5yrs ago. This picture is from a vacated campsite after the first gun season this yr. Taken in Shawnee by someone else.

20-Nov-12