Will 14-Dec-09
tenpointman 14-Dec-09
MM 14-Dec-09
badjuju 14-Dec-09
Tajue17 15-Dec-09
jdrdeerslayer 15-Dec-09
Will 15-Dec-09
12-Dec-09
I'm going to check with the police when I go this week to start my LTC renewal process (I'm due in April 2010)... But I'm curious if any of you know about the laws regarding muzzleloaders.

A few folks I know keep telling me that you dont need an FID or LTC to hunt with or possess a muzzleloader... But you DO need an LTC or FID to buy muzzle loader projectiles and powder.

I'm very curious about this because I'd seriously consider hooking the wifey up (she keeps dragging her feet on her LTC application) with a muzzleloader for the next few weeks if she was legal - without the LTC/FID while hunting with the muzzleloader.

Any thoughts?

12-Dec-09
well i am no expert but as far as i know it is legal to carry a muzzle loader in massachusetts as long as it is not the brake open barrel type example the omega triumph again i am no expert if i am wrong someone here will correct me i am sure.i carried the omega z5 all through shot gun season with no fid or ltc i hope i am legal.i bought my gun and kit in newhampshire sabots and powder as well

12-Dec-09
Will you do not need a FID/LTC to hunt with a muzzleloader. Only required when purchasing powder or primers. Like Hit it Hard stated just watch what type you have. The Triumph and Encore are not legal along with a few others.

12-Dec-09
All that was said above as far as i know is correct an thats the same with hunting with the bow you donot need an fid to hunt with it but if im right now they changed the law it says you need a hunter safty card to purchase a licence to hunt

12-Dec-09