Ohio
Contributors to this thread:
8YEW<|{|/\|@~ 27-Jul-10
Buckeye91 27-Jul-10
BuckeyeBuck 30-Jul-10
8YEW<|{|/\|@~ 03-Aug-10
Zbone 06-Aug-10
27-Jul-10
What is everyone's thoughts on hunting moon phases? Hunt new moon, full moon, somewhere in between? This post is being designated DEBATE FULL. haha

Thanks.

27-Jul-10
Full moon sucks from what i have experienced, its better to hunt mid day when its full. Ive only been hunting since i was twelve so im still learning though.

30-Jul-10
Full moon is the worst time possible for me. I see a tiny bit of movement in the morning and the same at the end of the day. They say to sit thru the middle of the day but that doesn't seem to work for me either. But check this years moon chart, new moon on 6 Nov., full moon not till 21 Nov. Should be a great pre-rut and rut this year.

03-Aug-10
How do you guys think the moon phase impacts deer movement during the rut?

06-Aug-10
Moon phases and the rut is always a heavily detated subject, plenty of info if you do a search.

Keeping notes over the years, lunar phases haven't anything to with the rut. Peak rut happens the same dates year after year. Deer farmers will confirm that. Weather has more to do with daytime activity than lunar phases.

Think about it, if it had to do with lunar phases, the whole whitetail world would come into peak rut at the same time which isn't so.

Here are some quotes I totally concur with from a guy over on the whitetail forum who also kept records:

"