WapitiBob 29-Nov-12
Elkhuntr 30-Nov-12
smurph 01-Feb-13
deerhunter97325 30-Aug-13
ghost stalker 30-Aug-13
elkoholic 09-Dec-13
swede 10-Dec-13
26-Nov-12
I am new to bow hunting this year and am trying to figure out a good general elk unit that will get me away from people and has decent elk numbers. The MC unit looks to be pretty good, but sounds pretty crowded. Is there somewhere I can pack into to avoid the 4x4 hunters? Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

26-Nov-12
Go to Idaho.

27-Nov-12
Going to Idaho isn't in the cards. At this point I can't afford the tag fees for out of state. Would rather spend the extra money on more/better gear. Plus Idaho would make scouting difficult due to the travel.

27-Nov-12
Not familiar with that unit but there are always gonna be places to pack in. You can get away from people in the most crowded units just depends on how far in you wanna go. I'd start with buying a ram horn map of the unit and try to narrow down the spots that look good to you and if you can get some time to run over there to scout it out do it. If not google maps and bing maps are good if not go to huntinggpsmaps.com ( not affiliated with them in any way ) and buy there downloaded software for you computer and scout that way. Best tool on the market right now. Also go to Odfw website and look at the last years #'s it will tell you a lot as far as hunter #'s and success rate. Good luck.

27-Nov-12
I feel the costal range is the best place In my opinion to get away. Most folks won't go the extra mile in that thick country. Great hunting on the coast, I'd go for tillamook county.

27-Nov-12
Thanks guys! I tried hunting the coast this year for rifle season and almost died entangled in a sea of blackberry's. I prefer the desert country. I've got maps headed my way, so I'll get a better idea soon.

29-Nov-12
how did you narrow it down to this unit, and why do you think it "sounds" crowded?