Chip T. 19-Oct-13
Monmouth533 20-Oct-13
H8UNH 20-Oct-13
Elkman52 21-Oct-13
Elkman52 21-Oct-13
RLong 23-Oct-13
RLong 23-Oct-13
14-Oct-13
So, I've hunted one day and saw deer, cool! When does the rut usually happen in NJ? I'm used to late November and even into December anymore in Maine because it doesn't get cold like it used to. I've heard it works around the moon cycles here. In my experience though full moons are bad for hunting because the deer move at night and bed down during the day. Any validity to that here. I'm basically a student to noting all over again. Having a blast with it here though.

Happy hunting

16-Oct-13
Pre-rut is starting about now... It varies every year but Peak Rut can be around 11/8 or so. Last few days of October through 11/20 are usually "can't miss" dates that will land you well within the rut...

19-Oct-13
I've seen a couple of small bucks pestering does this past week but nothing that I would call 'rutty'.

November 3rd till the 20th...be in the woods every possible minute! JMO

19-Oct-13
i saw very good chasing last night from young bucks in 35 and I had a big boy under me for ten minutes tonight and I could not seal the deal in 50. He was grunting up a storm not chasing just walking around like he owned the joint. When he standing at the base of my tree I could smell him. if the temps drop its gonna let loose.

19-Oct-13