Stinkbait1 21-Jul-14
Re_willis 21-Jul-14
Graysquirrel 22-Jul-14
Re_willis 23-Jul-14
soonerowl 23-Jul-14
Stinkbait1 23-Jul-14
razorsharp 28-Jul-14
18-Jul-14
This was my first time to put in for the mcaap hunts this year, and I was lucky enough to draw out in the Hominy area Nov. 7-9. I am very excited about this oppurtunity and as a lifelong compoud hunter I just recently took up shooting a recurve just to be able to hunt on base! Ive been looking at maps and sat pics of the hunt area trying to get a feel for the area and have been reading everything I could find out about it! Something that I keep coming across that I cant figure out is references to spots on base called AT's. Like AT10 or AT 21what are these? And I was wanting to ask for a little general info on how the hunt works. I know they are very structured but in what ways? And as I said earlier I'm pretty new to shooting a recurve so if any of you life longers have any tips, I'm all ears! Thank you!

21-Jul-14
Best tip I can give you on the recurve is practice, practice, practice! Next thing is to limit your shot distance. When practicing, if you can't put the majority of your arrows in the kill zone then you are too far from the target. As you get better, then gradually increase your shot distance. I don't know what poundage of bow you have but its a common mistake to purchase too much bow when switching to recurves or longbows. A 45 lb recurve will blow through any deer in Oklahoma. Take the time to tune your arrow/broadhead combo to get the best arrow flight possible. As for broadheads, get a good cut on contact head and make sure it is razor sharp and flies well. Don't use mechanicals out of trad gear. You want to shoot an arrow/broadhead combo that's 8-10 grains per pound of draw weight. So, if you are shooting a 45 lb bow @28" and your draw length is 28 in. then you want a total arrow weight of 360-450 grains. You may have to experiment a bit to get the best arrow for you.