horsethief51 23-Jul-14
Rut Nut 23-Jul-14
bill v 23-Jul-14
Rut Nut 23-Jul-14
Dave G. 24-Jul-14
exsanguinator 24-Jul-14
Rut Nut 24-Jul-14
22-Jul-14
Tonight I decided to go out a bit later than usual due to the heat. Decided to kill 2 birds, so to speak and see if I could find some critters.

Parked at the edge of some public ground I have been hunting the last couple years and headed off on one of the un-improved (gravel) roads. After about 20 min, I went around a gate and started down a trail. After about a 1/2 mile, I saw 2 fairly large birds. It was getting dark and they spotted me and flew from tree to tree, staying about 40 ft. in front of me. They were owls, although I am not good with birds, so not sure what kind. Definitely owls though. They were totally silent. Very cool! :)

After 30 min, I turned around and headed back towards the parking area. On the way back, I ran across 3 groups of deer. First one was crossing the un-improved road, the second group were just inside the woodline where I have been hunting and the last group were across the road on private property, but when they saw me coming, crossed the road into the woods where I hunt.

Was pretty cool spotting all that wildlife, and I am sure it was because I was riding near dusk and on my bike was pretty silent coming thru the woods, especially on the trail. Think I will do more of this as you can really cover a lot of ground and it's a good way to scout.

23-Jul-14
A few summers ago we switched from going spotting after dark to riding the same roads for the half hour before sunset until we can't see. Think about when you see critters moving in the tree stand. Same thing. Not so sure its the kind of conveyence you are riding as it is that you are not on foot. Bikes sure are a lot quieter. I think its a better time of day and maybe the deer do not associate vehicles with having 3 million candle power of light hitting them in the eyes.

23-Jul-14