Active Shooter 25-Sep-14
Goat 11-Mar-15
Active Shooter 12-Mar-15
Eagle_eye_Andy 12-Mar-15
Hoytboy 17-Mar-15
MattyB 26-Mar-15
Goat 22-Aug-15
22-Sep-14
Moving up to Offutt AFB from Florida. Looking for my first deer with my bow down here before I move. But I'm looking for info on spring turkey bow hunting. How is it done, blinds or sitting or what? What type of terrain should I be looking for? Heading up there the first week of January.

23-Sep-14
Spring Turkey – got to use a pop-up blind. Even a cheap one will do, you have to get out of sight. I would also get some decoys, a Tom, Jake, and a couple of hens. Lastly, for starters a simple slate call. If you will be hunting here near Omaha, the terrain is hills, the further west the more it will flatten out. Tons of turkeys, last year you could 3 permits, I filled them in a weekend. In 07, I moved here from Jacksonville, I retired from the USN in 10 and now I'm a contractor and work at STRATCOM. If you like the outdoors, not a bad place to be stationed.

Tony

23-Sep-14
Thanks for the info Tony.

23-Sep-14
Blinds definitely make it easier to get to full draw, but they are not a necessity--especially if the property you are hunting has some cedar trees or similar cover to hide in. I have arrowed all my turkeys without a blind while using compound bows and, in more recent years, traditional bows. It is a challenge getting to full draw this way, but that is what I love about it. Plus, I hate lugging around and setting up a blind.

Good Luck!

24-Sep-14
I'll be hunting public land unless I can get permission somewhere. Are there a lot of places to hunt with cover so I wouldn't have to carry a blind?

25-Sep-14