Jeff in MN 21-Oct-14
live2hunt 21-Oct-14
ahunter55wife 21-Oct-14
Pasquinell 21-Oct-14
GoJakesGo 21-Oct-14
Zinger 21-Oct-14
Pasquinell 21-Oct-14
20-Oct-14
In my own mind I’m really good lol. The truth of the matter is when I looked back I’m not that good at making meat with a bow . So when I looked back at the last 6 encounters I had with deer that I wanted to shoot I’m 2 for 6 . The reality of that truth has left me on search to improve when the deer I want to shoot is within range.

When you have a deer that you want to shoot inside your personal bow range how many times do they get away ?

20-Oct-14
You'll have to ask my wife.

20-Oct-14
Do you mean deer that we wanted to shoot that came within range? The 4 you didn't shoot was that because they never offered a shot or you messed up and they saw you draw or you missed or something?

For the last 20 or so deer I've shot only four "got away". An unseen branch allowed two to live, although one of them I killed a couple days later. One I made a bad shot but saw the same deer a couple weeks later no worse for the wear. And one I shot and could not find. I think the shot was a little high but it started to pour right after I shot and I never saw it again so I assume it died as a result of my arrow.

I've never been busted drawing my bow by a deer, now turkeys is a different story! Just last night I shot a buck and drew back on his when he was about 8yds away, just waited for him to turn his head away a little. Shot him at 3yds!

20-Oct-14
Zinger i don't see your buck on the Kill Thread? Why are you holding out??

20-Oct-14
Been pretty proficient over the past 31 years with many bucks and some does as well. Been more selective in recent years holding off for more mature animals. It has helped to get a better bow 2 years ago. I usually hit what I'm aiming at.

20-Oct-14

10orbetter's embedded Photo
10orbetter's embedded Photo