Bob McArthur 22-Oct-14
Bob McArthur 22-Oct-14
RC 22-Oct-14
Flintknocker 22-Oct-14
Bourbonator 22-Oct-14
Dparkguy 22-Oct-14
Bourbonator 22-Oct-14
21-Oct-14
I was contacted to do some deer "removal" on a small property in 5C. The property is only 1 1/2 acres and there are 10-15 deer that cruise around at dusk eating some fancy landscaping plants. Never saw anything like it in my 10 years of bow hunting. There are neighboring properties that are also 1 1/2 acres. I love helping people out but I'm wondering if it will be worth it given the potential problems that could arise. All of the neighboring houses are more than 50 yards from where a stand could be set up. Anyone else face these challenges?

22-Oct-14
I've been hunting a property like that for 13 years...my back yard. My property is 1 2/3 acres, right smack in the middle of the neighborhood. I own a small strip of woods with a creek flowing through it, and it is a major funnel for deer.

What I've learned about avoiding problems with neighbors:

The deer know when you're a threat, and, they know when you're not. Mature Urban & suburban deer are smarter than the big woods deer...there's more things that can harm and/or kill them than in the big woods.

Only shoot a relaxed deer. If it's acting nervous, don't even think about shooting .

You must take out both lungs, anything other may result in your deer going 100 or more yards through the neighborhood. You want them to drop within 35 to 40 yards so double lung is the only shot to take.

Keep all shots very close, a neighborhood is no place for 30 & 40 plus yard shots because they are going to run at least that far after the hit...if you take out both lungs at short range.

You'll need to figure out the normal dailey and weekly patterns of the neighboring properties, and use them to your advantage.

Remove your gut piles. You don't want the neighbors dogs going home with bloody faces. You also don't want to stink up the neighborhood with decaying entrails.