saltgrassarcher 24-Oct-14
Flintknocker 24-Oct-14
horsethief51 26-Oct-14
Bourbonator 26-Oct-14
horsethief51 28-Oct-14
saltgrassarcher 28-Oct-14
Flintknocker 31-Oct-14
22-Oct-14
Last coupla years I've noticed a growing interest in the ranks to 'investigate' mushrooms. I applaud the interest, can't imagine everyone not wanting to know more about our environments...and taking some satisfaction in procuring 'food' from nature.

However, this is not any fool's gambit. A single mistake can kill you dead as mushroom soil, and your passing won't be much fun. I've been dabbling in this for nearly 20 years...I know just an even dozen w/o doubt..and I stick to them, strictly.

There are 'cautions' such as no alcohol first time, no alcohol anytime, must be cooked fully, too far 'gone'..count on using a lot of water in the porcelain bowl fer a while.

My advice...buy some books, more than few, read 'em almost religiously until you understand free gills, veils, forked gills, detached and attached gills, what the phrase 'look alikes' could mean. Read 'em cover to cover. Take no chances, find someone who KNOWS what they're doing, and would first offer you all the same advice I am.

Some of the world's most complex chemical compounds are found in fungi (mushrooms). That includes some of the planets deadliest toxins..which ironically enough all end in "ins". PA has over 4,000 species of fungi, as many as any other local on planet earth. They are all beautiful in their own right...just so happens that many of them are also deadly.

You'll learn abbreviations such 'LBMs", Little brown mushrooms. With the exception of one...I avoid them like the plague. Too many absolutely deadly 'look alikes'. Same with white mushrooms, save a scant few. Those few..have no similarities whatsoever to host of others will shut your kidneys down permanently.