Contributors to this thread:
vvreddy 08-Nov-14
dockeating 10-Nov-14
pogo 10-Nov-14
jjb4900 10-Nov-14
dockeating 12-Nov-14
08-Nov-14
Article on the LoHud website...

http://www.lohud.com/story/opinion/contributors/2014/11/08/veterinarian-calls-teatown-bowhunting-abhorrent/18534765/

Bruce N. Hoskins 12:03 a.m. EST November 8, 2014 As a resident of the West End of the Town of New Castle for almost 20 years and a member of Teatown Lake Reservation for 10 years, I was very disheartened to learn of the deer hunt underway using sharpshooter hunters to thin the deer herd. As a veterinarian I am deeply disappointed by the board's decision to use bow hunters to accomplish the task and to use baiting to draw the maximum number of deer into the sites of these hunters.

I understand the burden that the ever-expanding deer population in the Northeast is putting on the old-growth forests they inhabit. Deer browse causes thinning and loss of indigenous plant species which ultimately culminates in replacement by invasive species. Other animals and plants sharing the same forest home suffer from the pressures these changes place on them. Ultimately, the deer herd itself will experience increased mortality once the carrying capacity of the land has become irreparably damaged. I presume the administrative board of Teatown has done its due diligence in determining that there has been significant damage to the land, that it is the deer herd that is responsible for that damage and that a deer kill will remedy the situation.

TJN 0114 VIEWDEER 2 During a 2008 night wildlife study, a deer is captured by a camera trap at Teatown Lake Reservation.(Photo: Teatown Lake Reservation)