RC 05-Mar-15
Jeff Durnell 05-Mar-15
Treerat 07-Mar-15
DaleHajas 08-Mar-15
Jeff Durnell 08-Mar-15
RC 08-Mar-15
RC 08-Mar-15
28-Feb-15
Came across this photo essay on the growth of a deer's antlers as it ages. Thought it was interesting enough to share. Just copy and paste the address.

This should help put the old saw about "Once a spike, always a spike" to rest.

http://www.realtree.com/deer-hunting/galleries/photo-gallery-from-buttons-to-booner

28-Feb-15
I agree but you will still get guys who say we are killing all the bucks with good genetics and letting the bucks with inferior genes breed here in PA due to to AR's. Even though it has been proven wrong scientifically over and over.

Mike

01-Mar-15

Brad Gehman's Link
I put it in a link

01-Mar-15
Thank you, Brad. I'm a newbie here and haven't got all the procedures figured out yet. Thanks again for simplifying the process. The photographs are worth seeing.

02-Mar-15
Cool link. Visit Rusty up in Cook Forest. She has racks from bucks up on the walls from their entire lives.

02-Mar-15
Cool link. Visit Rusty up in Cook Forest. She has racks from bucks up on the walls from their entire lives.

02-Mar-15

Ben Farmer's embedded Photo
Got these of the main forum. Shug from New Jersey posted them. I asked him if I could use them.

This is some unbelievable antler growth in 3 years! Another example that shows, you just never know what a buck will grow into from his first rack.

1 1/2 in this photo.

02-Mar-15

2 1/2 he was a 115 inches

02-Mar-15

3 1/2 he was a 160 inches!

02-Mar-15
Yep, dead 1 1/2 year old ain't getting any bigger, ever! He could be a scrawny spike and 1 1/2 and I would guarantee at 5 1/2 he would be something you want to shoot. I know I know some of you are happy with a scrawny spike, I say have at it.

Mike

03-Mar-15