Per48R 20-Aug-15
HunterR 20-Aug-15
Southern boy 20-Aug-15
happygolucky 21-Aug-15
FIP 21-Aug-15
Southern boy 21-Aug-15
14-Aug-15
Hello all,

I am very new to hunting, in fact this is the first time I will ever hunt. I know that I have a lot to learn about scouting deer, scent elimination, hunting techniques, etc. Can anyone offer tips, advice or point me to a good article or website to help learn some of the basics and important parts about hunting deer. Example such as what to look for to indicate a bedding area or identify new vs. old scrapes. I appreciate any help you all have to offer.

14-Aug-15
Subscribe to Bill Winke's Midwest Whitetail news letter e-mail. Always lots of great info shared there. It always coincides with the time of year. From starting food plots, early season hunting through to the late season.

15-Aug-15
Go to wiredtohunt.com and listen to their podcasts. this is my first year bowhunting too and I have learned so much from them.

15-Aug-15
Or...go out and learn from the countless mistakes you will make. I'm old school...or just old...63...and grew up in the hay day of hunting; started in the 60's under the tutelage of my father. He taught me so much, but more importantly, made sure I'd experience plenty of self infilicted "learning experiences".

Definitely search out all the knowledge you can find, if possible get a mentor, but do enjoy the lessons you will learn from your errors. Brother...that's half the fun!!!

17-Aug-15
bgbuckslyr, that is one of the best posts ever made on this site. You really kept it real. Some people won't admit to #6 but 99% of those who have hunted a long time will. #5 is really really important.

17-Aug-15
I agree. Great post bgbuckslyr! Informative and positive.

One suggestion that I'd add. Go to a good archery shop or club and take a lesson or two. Have someone look at your form and correct anything before it becomes a bad habit.

And have fun shooting your bow. Shoot a smaller number of arrows more frequently.