CTCrow 29-Sep-15
Ace 29-Sep-15
CTCrow 29-Sep-15
Wardens Worry 29-Sep-15
Wardens Worry 29-Sep-15
Ace 29-Sep-15
01-Sep-15
Guys, easy one for you.

2015 will be my first full time year hunting in CT. I bow hunt only. Question because I am a bit confused over how CT issues a hunting license after hunting primarily in NY in the past.

I am interested in bow hunting only.

From what I understand, the only thing as a non resident I need to buy is a non-res archery permit for $135.

Do I also need to buy a separate hunting license on top of that?

My dad is a full time resident landowner so he is going through a different process.

01-Sep-15
I just read thru the guide and it looks to me that you only need to buy the non-res archery permit. However, you must show you have either a bow hunter safety course certificate since 1982, or, a previous year bow hunting license from another state.

Sunday hunting is allowed on private land, but that does not start until October 1, this year.

http://www.ct.gov/deep/cwp/view.asp?a=2700&q=323414&deepNav_GID=1633

For the last two years I've hunted Pennsylvania and they make you buy the firearms license to get an archery permit. For deer that means buck only, only one per season, regardless of weapon used. A special doe permit is available for an additional charge, with application dates that start a first come first served process, till they are all sold. What really bums me out about Pennsylvania deer season, is that during Thanksgiving week, there is no deer hunting allowed. Another weird rule is that when using a semi-auto firearm of any caliber, it cannot hold more than three rounds.

01-Sep-15
bow comes with 4 tags 2 anterless 2 either sex . you have to print the tags yourself from web .

01-Sep-15
thanks Bob but do I need a separate hunting license for that or is the bow permit good enough?

01-Sep-15
Blake,