pogo 11-Dec-15
bas4109 11-Dec-15
pogo 11-Dec-15
pogo 30-Jan-16
sweet old bill 31-Jan-16
16-Oct-15

pogo's embedded Photo
pogo's embedded Photo
I started writing this type of post about four years ago to chronicle my hunts.... not because I'm an expert.... but because I love bow hunting and screw up a lot. Maybe you can learn more of the "not to do" stuff from reading it and maybe you might learn some of the other.

I am a year around hunter and I spend as much time in the woods as I can. I have acquired a passion for shed hunting in early spring and I finally purchased a couple of trail cameras at the end of last season and I'm enjoying them and the pics I've gotten from them.

This year started a little later than last year for me. The DEC didn't allow us to shoot bucks during the first fourteen days of the season saying we have too many does. I see about four bucks to every single doe on the farm I hunt and I didn't want to be tempted by seeing a good one, so I stayed out of the tree until yesterday. Heck.....last season I didn't start hunting until the 10th so I wasn't concerned.

Yesterday morning was the perfect morning to hunt the oaks on the farm. The wind was blowing gently out of the WSW and I was in my tree with my climber before sunup. I had high hopes and I wasn't disappointed. It all started with a beautiful sunrise.

Last Thursday I had gone down to the farm to move one of my ladder stands to a better position and after I got that done, I walked into the oaks to see what was what. It was not forty yards from my favorite tree that I found the beginning of a rub line that looked like it was from a decent buck. The trees being rubbed were not all that big but the height of the rubs and the depth of the gouges indicated a good buck. I was pretty excited and hung a trail camera overlooking two of the rubs.