CurveBow 29-Feb-16
Buckstopshere 01-Mar-16
bow shot 06-Mar-16
Ace of Spades 12-Mar-16
bow shot 19-Mar-16
infiniti11 04-Apr-16
28-Feb-16
Hi All,

I'm a new student at Cornell Vet and this was my first year bowhunting NY. I'm from MA and honestly a novice deer hunter. Still learning a ton and every outdoorsman I met around Ithaca were great people and helped a lot. Turned out to be a great season for me, even though I didn't kill a deer - I stuck a nice 10 point in the shoulder at 5yds after he came into the grunt tube - they got him two weeks later during shotgun season. I wanted to post this letter from the Cornell deer program. I'm sure its a very polarizing topic. I enjoy it from both a hunting and biological standpoint. Their main point is the deer population in their study range is as strong as ever. The reason hunters had fewer sightings was due to weather. I also just had a lecture from one of their deer biologist in my conservation medicine talk. It was very interesting, especially when he said one problem they ran into trying to curb the deer population by spaying the females was how it attracted the bucks. They significantly decreased the does, but had a two fold increase (over 200 sightings) of bucks in the Tompkins County experiment areas. Basically since the does couldn't be bred they kept coming back into heat and attracted even more deer. Now I hunted the plantations land and didn't see a single deer. But the program has licenses to bait trail cameras for the experiment and the numbers don't lie. (Unless you don't believe them for your own reasons) Thought some of you might enjoy reading the report. I save the letter as two separate pictures, couldn't figure out how to send it as a word doc. Will post them consecutively. Best, Nick

28-Feb-16

GetEmDrake's embedded Photo

28-Feb-16

29-Feb-16
Interesting report. But for others, any way to make it larger; or perhaps embed a link to the PDF so that they can enlarge it?

>>>>----Thanks---->

01-Mar-16